Madeleine – 10th – #7 – media prize

The photo I am about to show you is particularly low quality, but it shows some of the backstage antics and I want to give you a flavour of reality. This is not the polished approach of professionals. This is amateur, It is raw and it is authentic.

The candle bearers were proceeding by, largely ignored. Under the tripod in the foreground is a red tablet. It has featured in this set of photos before. However, I cracked on with other things before I got round to watching Martin Brunt in the Sky special for the 10th. It wasn’t until I saw the Sky special that I twigged it follows Mr Brunt around wherever he goes. Consequently, I have no idea what information is held on that tablet.

The gentleman in the top is checking light levels, I think. He is wearing an orange t-shirt and shorts. No, you cannot see his t-shirt is orange in this photo, but he will appear again later.

The man to the left of centre is Martin Brunt, I believe. He was only one of two men wearing a suit. Mr Brunt appears to be catching up on his mobile.

In the next photo, you can see who the media were awaiting to interview. The time by the church clock is 9.46pm. It looks like Martin Brunt has nabbed first dibs on Reverend Haynes Hubbard. Our orange-shirted man has come across to join in, and it looks like a planning meeting. Reverend Hubbard is very casual in a white shirt, trousers and sandals.

My contact from Lisbon is Jerome pin, the man on the right with the dark blue shirt and light blue jeans. I have no certainty about who was on the phone, but I would guess it was work, aka AFP. Just to the left of the church door was CMTV tucking away some video. I didn’t know at the time the lady in black was from CMTV, but she will pop up again in a clearer photo.

The other person in the photo that I can identify is my contact from the UK, Michael Havis, in black, bent over his mobile. We had done Luz Tour 6 on 1st and 2nd May. I have yet to write that up due to priorities. He will appear again later in this photoset.

At this point I was getting a bit nervous, because I wanted to get to the Smith sighting for 10pm. Bear in mind that though the clock church said 9.46pm, I made it 9.52pm.

The trouble was, the media wanted to interview Reverend Hubbard.

2 thoughts on “Madeleine – 10th – #7 – media prize

  1. Hi Elcacraig
    It would be interesting to hear if this reverend Hubbard still believes in the McCanns. Have you got any link to an interview with him? Has Brunt interviewed him? I suppose this reverend was the person, who in 2007 gave the McCanns free access to the church.

  2. I believe that Sky had another team member interview Reverend Hubbard.

    I haven’t got a link. Their broadcast was live, so I will only get to see what was said if someone YouTube’s it.

    From memory, it was the catholic priest, Father Jose Manuel Pachecho who was involved re the key. The McCanns are Roman Catholics, and most of the church support back in 2007 was via the Catholic community. This support seems to have been removed when the McCanns were made arguidos.

    The Hubbards arrived in Luz 3 days after Madeleine disappeared. Kate McCann wrote that she became friends with Susan Hubbard in particular.

    There is a photo in the backlog which suggests that Reverend Hubbard is pro-Madeleine.

Leave a Reply

