Madeleine – Australian TV Sunday 23 April 2017

There is to be a special re Madeleine McCann on Australian Channel 7 on Sun 23 April 2017 at 8.30pm local time.

A trailer is at https://www.facebook.com/7sundaynight/?hc_ref=PAGES_TIMELINE&fref=nf

Having watched the trailer, I doubt very much that anything new that is significant will emerge.

The programme is supposedly geo-blocked and I haven’t a clue as to whether our workaround re geo-blocking works for any Australian channel.

Would it be possible for anyone in Australia to perform an act of kindness?

As I said, I doubt the programme will make any breakthrough. But I am curious as to two questions. First, is the broadcast high on fact or high on speculation? And secondly, is it neutral, firmly anti-McCann or firmly supportive?

I know my blog has readers in Australia. I simply hope to get an Australian take on the Madeleine McCann affair as the people of Australia see it, as we approach the 10th anniversary.

It could be this programme, or anything else in Australian media.

Your co-operation would be most welcome.

Please be nice to me. For some reason I have not yet fathomed, we get Australian surfers in our neck of the woods, and I am looking forward to having some fun with them when we move to Portelas.

5 thoughts on “Madeleine – Australian TV Sunday 23 April 2017

  1. As an Aussie, I don’t associate Channel 7, nor any of the commercial channels with in-depth, investigative journalism. If the ABC (the Oz version of the BBC) was doing this show, I’d have much higher hopes. Despite being slashed to bone, they still have excellent journalists on board. Secondly, trotting out PB as a profiling “expert” is dubious. No serious and fair investigative piece would do this, IMO. So I’ll try and watch it, but have very low expectations of the quality. I suspect it’ll be high on sensationalism and recycled material.

  2. I would be most grateful if you could watch it and supply your opinion on the effort.

    What I know about Australian media defines a near-perfect zero. I can only judge by the trailer and that I would class as a pot-boiler.

    For some strange reason, we do get a flow of Australians visiting our little neck of the woods. It is to do with surfing. As far as I can tell we have very poor quality surf here, but my knowledge of surfing is also close to a perfect zero.

    However, when we move, I intend to engage with these antipodean visitors in our locality. I hope to run a quiz night, and my plan is to make sure everyone has to integrate with all the nationalities we have out here – Australian, Brits, Dutch, French, German, Irish, Portuguese and Spanish, plus all the ones I have forgotten to list.

    I hope to expand my knowledge of Australian terms, humour, meal preferences and much more.

    But to return to the point. If I can get a way of evaluating this ‘special’ first hand, then I shall. But I am still interested in an Australian evaluation of the prog, so I sincerely hope you will be kind enough to contribute one.

  3. I watched almost all of it (except for the end, as I had work today and needed to sleep). Tbh, I am sure I don’t know much about the case compared to most of your readers; I just stumbled across your blog while looking for a bit more information about what was on the program.

    I thought it was quite skewed towards the parents being innocent (and I’m not saying they are or aren’t). When the American woman was interviewed (I’m sorry, I don’t recall her name . . . someone Brown. I’m going to call her Ms Brown), the journalist was asking the questions in an incredulous fashion, as if what Ms Brown was saying couldn’t possibly be true. I would’ve preferred a more objective approach, but anyway. I remember the journalist asking how it would be possible for all of the McCanns’ friends to keep Madeleine’s death a secret if that is indeed what happened, and Ms Brown replied that it had happened in other cases.

    This is probably well-known information, but I did not know about the string of burglaries around the area prior to Madeleine’s disappearance. I believe they said that a person (or people) had been breaking into English tourists’ apartments and getting into bed with their young daughters. My immediate thought was, “well . . if this was one person, then they have probably escalated in the case of Madeleine McCann, and actually taken her” but not much information was given about this line of inquiry so I don’t know how plausible that is. In fact, that’s what led me to your blog – if you could point me in the direction of where I could read more about these burglaries, I’d appreciate it!

    Much of it was also interviews with various experts, commenting that her body could be anywhere in the area, and that there are plenty of hiding spaces. They focused on the wells around the area. The narrative also focused on the botched police investigation (how road blocks weren’t set up until it was too late, etc).

    Someone else will probably be along with a much more coherent assessment. I was quite tired, and as I said, I am sure that I have not followed this case as closely as your other readers. If you have any questions about the segment though, I’ll try to come back and answer them. Regards, Alice

  4. Hello,

    My name is Jerome Pin, I am a french journalist based in Lisbon and correspondent for the AFP (agence France Presse). I am preparing a report for the 10 years of Maddie and I would like to contact you for an interview.
    Thanks.
    Best regards.
    Jerome

Leave a Reply

