Madeleine – Xmas day 10 – farewell Kiwi

I have not finished my day 9 tale and I fully realise this is day 12, but I did say I would try to produce a story for each of the 12 days of Christmas, and here is the tenth.

I have received intelligence that one of the cafés on the promenade has recently changed hands, and will soon open up under new management for the season.

The establishment in question is the Kiwi pastelaria, which was functioning in Luz in 2007. I have tried to build up a picture of all the commercial places open on 3 May 2007 between 8.30pm and 10.30pm, to get an accurate idea of what was going on. The Kiwi is one of those that might or might not have been open that night.

The Kiwi was what I would consider to be cheap and cheerful. The food was not great, but it was popular with locals during sunny times because it was a place to meet, a great view, inexpensive for Luz, and al fresco.

When I say al fresco I mean al fresco. It has 3 bar stools but no other seatsindoors, so the customers all sit outside. It works only in clement weather, but fortunately that is in abundance in Luz.

I scuttled down to the front today to try to get some information from the Kiwi. I wanted to get the opening hours and the weekday of closure, before the new proprietors convert it. I have no idea whether the Kiwi was open at night on 3 May 2007, and I just wanted to check.

It is a very pleasant day here in Luz. When I set off around 8.15am it was 16°C, no wind, 100% sunny. Builders were building. Road sweepers were sweeping. The bus from Burgau to Lagos raced past me. Cars zipped along at a frenetic pace, totally ignoring the speed limits. Joggers were out jogging. And on the front, dog walkers were meeting up for a chat while their dogs romped free on the beach.

How about the Kiwi pastelaria? The one thing I had not planned for was that the previous proprietors have already decided to call it a day. The place was secured behind locked shutters. It was a total mission failure.

Mind you, it was a jolly pleasant walk.

Here is the Kiwi, at 8.53am on 5 Jan 2017.

madeleine-xmas-day-10-kiwi

 

 

2 thoughts on “Madeleine – Xmas day 10 – farewell Kiwi

  1. Hi – google is your friend …

    Highlights of the Kiwi Cafeteria!
    See:

    – video has a published datle of April 11 2013 – so before “new management”?

    For Opening hours see also http://www.luz-info.com/bars.htm (Date stamp of 06/2011 and gives opening hours as :Daily 09.00 until about 19.00.

    • The Kiwi seems to have been sold over the winter of 2016/2017, and I understand the new owners intend to have it open in the run up to Easter 2017.

      The main issue with it seems to be the tiny amount of space inside, which means that in inclement weather, it is not worth opening.

Leave a Reply

