Luz – Around The World – Scotland

I have made the trans-Atlantic flight to Scotland. I am nearly home again. I would have stopped over in Iceland, but for two reasons. I cannot think of anything tasty from Iceland other than fish. And today in Luz we had a very extended thunderstorm which meant I was not willing to scour the local shops for the best offer in town for fish.

So instead I am in Scotland, a country not renowned for its cuisine, though trust me, Scotland can do very upmarket home cooking. Could I but get my hands on some venison.

Anyway, I am on a mission, and that is to get my hands on a Kilmarnock pie. This is not a Scotch pie, where the meat is minced lamb.

I want a Killie pie, which has won the award for the best football pie two years running. Then a dispute over branding with Killie football club led it to being renamed the Kilmarnock pie.

kilmarnock-pie

Here’s the easy bit. The casing is pie. The filling is steak. So far, so good.

Now for the tricky bit. It is meant to be a football club pie, one that gets ordered and eaten at half time. You eat it with your fingers, and at best, the only thing to clear up the mess is a napkin. This means there has to be meat gravy, just not enough to go everywhere. Check with Brownings the bakers in Kilmarnock for the details.

I wanted a football pie recipe for a quite different reason. The event in question does not date back 10 years yet, and also the event I am thinking of did not take place on 3 May 2007. But it very definitely is related to Madeleine.

Tonight’s steak pie was down-market, but very tasty.

Leave a Reply

