Luz – Around The World – Quebec

Last night it was a skip from the USA to the French part of Canada – Québec. Montréal is one of my top cities because it mixes quaint old world charm with new vibrancy.

My dish last night was as easy as chips, because basically it it just a little step more complicated than chips. It is a regional dish of Québec. I may be overdoing it if I call it a delicacy. It is poutine.

Poutine is unbelievably easy to cook. It is chips (OK French fries if you want to posh it up a bit), cheese curds, and a thin brown gravy. It sounds awful. It looks awful. It tastes delicious.

Cheese curds, in cuisine or cooking, are the solid parts of curdled milk either eaten alone or used in various regional dishes mostly in Canada and the north-eastern and mid-western United States. They are sometimes referred to as “squeaky cheese”.

So if you are not in Canada or the US, your big challenge is getting your hands on something that approximates to cheese curds. Personally, I had a look in the fridge and surveyed the range of cheeses therein. I picked a Portuguese one that is fairly mild, and I gently pan-fried it so I could drizzle it over my chips before the gravy went on.

It tasted great, but I have to admit I need more work on making it ‘squeaky’.

Leave a Reply

