Still down – hard disk failure

Our local PC fixer has now diagnosed the issue as a hard drive failure.

This requires purchase and installation of a new hard drive, recovery of data from the old drive, installation of a new operating system, putting my old data onto the new drive and then …

I will need to download and reinstall my applications.  And check to see how much data I have lost.

In a sense I am lucky.  Most of my key data is posted in this blog, so I can get that back.  There may be an issue with the detailed underlying data, they stuff that I work from, but never post.  For example, I constructed a detailed proposal about working alongside the McCanns, and have been trying to get beyond the McCann security fence to put the proposal to them.  That may or may not have died in the crash.

Luckily, after many a previous PC death, I have reverted to keeping my numerous passwords on old fashioned paper.

It is going to be 2-3 days to get back to being able to use my PC again.

But I am working on things in the interim.

Our move to Portelas is progressing, and there is a fair bit of photography/videography I want to do before then.  It’s just easier while I am still based in Luz.

And of course the 9th anniversary of the disappearance of Madeleine McCann is fast approaching, and I hope to be out and about for that.

Before then, the third Luz annual triathlon should occur around 25 April, so I have lots to keep me busy.

Leave a Reply

