Madeleine – Crimewatch 2013 English transcript pt 2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3EyqHtsLeGQ

11:54 The Tapas meal

The McCanns left their apartment at 8:30 . They were joined at the Tapas restaurant by their friends Matt and Rachael Oldfield, and Jane Tanner and her partner Russell O’Brien. At about 9 o’clock, Matt left to make sure his children were alright. Shortly after he’d gone the remaining 3 people arrived.

A few minutes after 9 I said to Kate – that’s half an hour, I´m gonna go up – and as I walked in I noticed that their bedroom door was open slightly wider, wider than I had left it. So naturally, went into the room. I could see the twins clearly in their cot, and Madeleine was lying there, sound asleep.

12:53 The Tanner sighting

On his way back, Gerry stopped to have a chat with a fellow guest.

At about the same time Jane Tanner went to check on her children. Her route took her past the McCanns apartment.

13:17 The Tapas meal

By the time the starters arrived everyone appeared settled for dinner.

And then at 9:30, which is the time I thought – right I need to check, I stood up and at the same time Matt stood up. Matt and Rachael actually stayed in the apartment next to us 5B, said I can pop in.

So I said OK OK, I’ll go next one.

As Matt left the table Jane’s partner Russell also went to check his children

Matt, em, checked and when he came back, said are they all-right, and he said it’s all quiet.

Russell stayed behind as his daughter had become unwell. Jane went to relieve him once she had finished her meal

14:10 Kate McCann’s check

So at ten o’clock, em. I got up to do the next check. I’d finished eating then so I headed back to the apartment the usual route.

And I just stopped and listened in the living area for a bit and it was all quiet but it just caught my eye that the children’s door was quite far open. And at that point I thought it must have been when Matt checked and he’s left it open. And as I was just drawing it over, it was like it had been caught by a draught and it just kind of slammed shut

It was only at that point really that as I kind of opened it a bit, I kind of looked into the room. And I was, I guess I was looking at Madeleine’s bed and I couldn’t, couldn’t make her out. And then I realized actually she’s not in that bed. Aw, I wonder if she’s woken up and gone through to our bed. She wasn’t in our bed. And that was, that was the first time I guess, you know, a panic kicked in.

And it was literally at that point the curtains that I say were closed just kinda whoosh. And then I could see that the window had been pushed right open. The shutters were up. So, em, sorry, err, so, so I kinda knew straight away then that Madeleine had been taken.

15:40 The aftermath

Within hours of Madeleine going missing the world’s media had descended on the resort. Searches of the local area were carried out. While reporters camped outside the apartment.

A day after she disappeared, Gerry gave a statement to the press. “Words can not describe the anguish and despair that we are feeling.”

Later Kate made an emotional speech after visiting the local church. “Please continue to pray for Madeleine. She’s lovely.”

16:18 The sighting by Tanner

As the McCanns and their friends tried to piece together that night, Jane Tanner remembered seeing something that was to become the main thread of the investigation.

When she walked past the McCanns apartment at about a quarter past nine, she had seen a man. He was carrying a child. Her description helped create this artist’s impression.

Was he the man who took Madeleine?

16:44 Crimewatch 2007

A month after her disappearance, the McCanns made an appeal on Crimewatch.

For the Crimewatch viewers at home I think this would be a good time now to review all the information.”

These are virtually identical to the pyjamas that Madeleine was wearing when she was taken.”

17:08 The McCanns as arguidos

By now, Madeleine’s abduction was a major news story all over the world. But not all the publicity was welcome.

The day that you yourselves were named as being suspects. Tell me about that day.

I think Gerry was scared ‘cos he knew that we were in a system that we didn’t know. And I think I just lost it actually. I was, I was upset. I was angry. And I just thought, you know, this is just crazy. The, you know, it’s unjust. We’re never going to find Madeleine.

17:50 The case was closed in Portugal

In July 2008, more than a year after she disappeared, the Portuguese investigation was closed and all suspects, including Kate and Gerry, were formally cleared.

The McCanns continued to campaign for police to reopen the case of their missing daughter.

Do you always feel conscious that there’s a, there’s a Madeleine-shaped hole there?

When it’s a special occasion, when you should be at your happiest, and Madeleine’s not there, that’s when it really hits home. Obviously Madeleine’s birthday goes without saying. But it’s when you’re really getting …

Yeah, when you have big family occasions really. That’s basically it, family occasion and you haven’t got your complete family.

18:39 The case was reviewed by Scotland Yard

In 2011, the McCanns made a direct appeal to prime minister David Cameron for help in the search for Madeleine. In an unprecedented move, a team from the Metropolitan Police was given the go-ahead to review the mass of evidence that had come from Praia da Luz.

Would the UK’s top detectives be able to crack a case that had baffled the world?

Leave a Reply

